Weather Forecast


St. Croix EDC elects officers, new directors

Paul Schwebach, Sharon Norton-Bauman, Scott Wagner, Michelle Erdman and Greg Gerardl, from left, were elected to the St. Croix Economic Development Corporation's board of directors at the May 11 annual meeting.

The St. Croix Economic Development Corporation (EDC) held its annual meeting Tuesday, May 11, and elected new officers and directors for 2010.

Baldwin resident Tom Schumacher was elected to a one-year term as president. Schumacher is a business attorney with Bakke Norman S.C. He replaces Patti Robertson of Hudson who completed her term as president. She will continue to serve on the executive committee.

Ryan Sicard, Somerset, was elected first vice president. He is employed by the Somerset School District and serves on the Somerset village board and the St. Croix County board of supervisors.

Roger Humphrey, Woodville was elected second vice president. He owns Humphrey Engineering and MarketGraphics, both located in Hudson.

Marian Furlong, Hudson, was elected corporate secretary-treasurer. She is the president and chief operating officer of Hudson Hospital & Clinics.

Three directors completed their final terms on the board - Patti Robertson, Willard Moeri and Jerry Brown.

Three incumbent directors were re-elected: Dawn Hukai, Ryan Sicard and Tom Schumacher. All will serve a three-year term. Hukai is an associate dean of the College of Business and Economics (CBE) at UW-River Falls. She is also an accounting professor at CBE.

Four new directors were elected to the board. They include Michelle Erdman, Greg Gerard, Paul Schwebach and Scott Wagner. Erdman, Baldwin, is a paralegal at Minnesota Mining and Manufacturing. Gerard is a business consultant. Both Schwebach and Wagner are bankers - Schwebach is employed as the branch manager at AnchorBank in River Falls and Wagner is a business banking manager with Bremer Bank.

Sharon Norton-Bauman, Hudson, is one of the three county supervisors appointed to the board and she began serving in May.

At the conclusion of the annual meeting the departing directors were presented with plaques as a token of appreciation for their service to St. Croix EDC. Robertson also received a memento for her service as EDC president from May 2009 to May 2010.