Weather Forecast


HUDSON SCHOOL DISTRICT: 11/13/17 Board Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, December 20, 2017 - 11:22pm

Hudson School District
Regular Board of Education Meeting Minutes
November 13, 2017
Open Session
1. The regular meeting of the Hudson Board of Education was called to order by President Jamie Johnson at approximately 6:00 p.m. in the first-floor meeting room of the Administrative Service Center, 644 Brakke Drive, Hudson, WI. Members present: Sandy Gehrke, Bruce Hanson, Jamie Johnson, Sue Kattas, Heather Logelin and Carrie Whitacre. Administrators in attendance included Superintendent Nick Ouellette, Assistant Superintendent Dave Grambow, Chief Financial and Operations Officer Tim Erickson, Chief of Human Resources Officer Andrea Voelker, Director of Teaching and Learning Sandra Kovatch, Interim Chief of Schools Officer Erin Schiltgen and Assistant Director of Community Relations Tracy Habisch-Ahlin.
2. Director of Teaching and Learning Sandra Kovatch introduced the Hudson students selected to participate in the State Honors Music Project. Over 20 Middle and High School students from Hudson participated this fall, along with Hudson High School Band Director Ryan McCarthy, who was selected as a section coach for the four day summer camp as well.
3. Activities Director Stephanie DeVos introduced seniors Angela Huepfel, Keagan Sansone and Max Stubbendick, representing Athletes Making Progress (AMP). Athletes and coaches from the following teams were recognized: cheer and stunt, football, girls golf, Raidaires, boys soccer, girls swim and dive, girls tennis, volleyball, and boys and girls cross country.
4. DeVos also announced that Hudson High School earned the WIAA Award of Excellence. This award recognizes WIAA member schools for their efforts and achievements in the area of sportsmanship, ethics, leadership and character. Hudson was one of only 15 schools to be recognized.
5. No citizens asked to speak about non-action items.
6. Superintendent Ouellette reported on construction progress at the High School site. The temporary classrooms are on site and scheduled to be utilized in December. The auditorium continues to be on schedule for a December 12th turnover to the school district. Representatives from the school district, Bray architects and Kraus-Anderson construction will conduct a walk through of all remaining classrooms to establish the scope of work in each room.
7. Superintendent Ouellette announced that April 3, 2018 will be the next school board election. Incumbents Rob Brown, Sandy Gehrke, and Sue Kattas are completing their current term. Campaign registration statements and a declaration of candidacy must be filed no later than 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, January 2, 2018 in the office of the school district clerk, 644 Brakke Dr. Hudson, WI 54016. If necessary, a primary will be held on Tuesday, February 20, 2018.
8. Superintendent Ouellette provided an update on the Wisconsin legislature. They have adjourned, but will meet again in January and February. Senator Harsdorf has been named as the agriculture secretary, and a special election will be held to fill her Senate seat.
9. President Johnson attended a WASB conference on legislative advocacy and would like to see legislative topics on the agenda for each work session.
10. Chief of Human Resources Officer Andrea Voelker reviewed the second part of the 800 Policy Series. These policies focus on school-community relations.
11. President Johnson called for a five minute recess at 7:35 p.m.
12. The Board reconvened at 7:40 p.m.
13. Assistant Superintendent Dave Grambow demonstrated the Build Your Own Curriculum platform, and provided an update on the implementation of the new program.
14. Gehrke moved, with second by Whitacre, to approve the consent items which include the approval of the October 9, 2017 Board meeting minutes and the October 23, 2017 special meeting minutes; the personnel hires, changes, retirements/resignations/non-renewals/ terminations and leaves (attached); Expenditures in the amount of $12,408,309.13; Receipts totaling $5,857,347.92; Payroll totaling $1,994,616.03; EFT/ACH payments totaling $1,496,772.73; Youth Options Second Semester 2017-18. The motion carried.
15. Andrea Voelker recognized two retirements, Tess Rizzardi, an elementary teacher for 24 years in the Hudson School District, and Matthew Friedl, a High School social studies teacher and instructional coach for 15 years. The Board of Education thanks them both for their service.
16. Gehrke moved, with second by Hanson, to approve the second reading of the first part of the Policy Series 800. The motion carried.
17. Kattas moved, with second by Logelin, to accept the 2018-19 school calendar as presented. The motion carried.
18. Kattas moved, with second by Hanson, to name Heather Logelin as the Hudson School District delegate for the Delegate Assembly held during the 2018 Education Convention in Milwaukee. The motion carried.
19. Hanson moved, with second by Whitacre, to name Rob Brown as the Hudson School District alternate delegate for the Delegate Assembly held during the 2018 Education Convention in Milwaukee. The motion carried.
20. At 8:20 p.m. Hanson moved, with second by Whitacre, to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried.
/s/ James Johnson
_____________________________________ (Pub. 12/21/17) WNAXLP