Weather Forecast



Thursday, May 28, 2009 - 1:41am

Notice is hereby given that applications for two (2) positions on the Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College (WITC) District Board are being accepted from individuals residing in the WITC District, which includes Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Burnett, Douglas, Polk, Rusk, Sawyer, and Washburn Counties; and portions of Iron and St. Croix Counties.

Appointments will be made in accordance with the Appointment Committee's Plan of Representation, which specifies categories of membership as well as geographic areas of representation within the district. Following is the list of remaining open board member positions:

WITC District Board Member Open Positions

All positions will commence on or about July 1, 2009, and upon certification of the Wisconsin Technical College System Board, all positions carry three-year terms expiring June 30, 2012.

• Employer Member: Representing Region 6 - St. Croix County

• School District Administrator Member: Districtwide Representation

(Note: In 2009, applications are being accepted from CESA 12 School District Administrators. Each three-year term is rotated between the CESA 12 schools and the CESA 10 and 11 schools in the WITC District.)

Board Member Category Definitions

An Employer Member is defined as someone who receives earnings as payment for personal services and who has the authority to exercise independent judgment in determining, or effectively recommending, any of the following actions for business employees: hire, transfer, suspend, layoff, recall, promote, discharge, assign, reward, discipline, and adjust grievances. Note: Representatives of labor organizations (officers or agents) are considered employee members regardless of their responsibilities.

A School District Administrator Member is defined as a school district superintendent, supervising principal, or other person who acts as the administrative head of a school district and who holds an administrator's license; and must be employed by a school board or a school district located within the technical college district.

In the appointment process, equal consideration is given to the general population distribution within the WITC District, as well as to the distribution of women and minorities.

Note: No two members of the WITC District Board may be officials of the same governmental unit, nor may any district board member be a member of the school board which employs the School District Administrator.

Notarized application forms must be received in writing no later than 4 p.m. on Monday, June 15, 2009. Each applicant must also submit at least two letters of reference supporting his/her candidacy to the WITC District Board and must attend a public hearing of the District Board Appointment Committee to be interviewed on Thursday, July 16, at 1 p.m., at the WITC Shell Lake - Administrative Office, 505 Pine Ridge Drive, Shell Lake, WI 54871. No additional names will be accepted from the floor at the time of the Appointment Committee meeting.

Notarized applications should be sent (postmarked), no later than 4 p.m. on Monday, June 15, 2009, to:

Mr. Roger Rebholz, Chairperson, District Board Appointment Committee, WITC - Administrative Office, 505 Pine Ridge Drive, Shell Lake, WI 54871

Application forms and instructions may be obtained on the WITC Web address below, or by contacting:

Ms. Kim Olson, Board Appointment Committee Liaison, WITC Administrative Office, 505 Pine Ridge Drive, Shell Lake, WI 54871; Telephone: (715) 468-2815, ext. 2279; Email:

The Web address for application information and instructions to help you determine if you qualify for a board member category is:

A second legal notice announcing the public hearing and committee meeting and all applicant names will be published in early July 2009.