Hunter education class begins next weekA certified Wisconsin hunter education course is scheduled from 6:30-9 p.m. Thursdays, March 26-May 14, at the Hudson Rod, Gun & Archery Club. Registration is 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, March 24, and that night only.
A certified Wisconsin hunter education course is scheduled from 6:30-9 p.m. Thursdays, March 26-May 14, at the Hudson Rod, Gun & Archery Club. Registration is 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, March 24, and that night only.
There will also be a mandatory Saturday Field Day and test night.
All students are now required by the Wisconsin DNR to have customer identification numbers by the second class in order to graduate — call DNR Customer Service at (888) 936-7463.
There is no pre-registration. Both the student and parent must attend registration in order to complete the necessary forms. Registration is mandatory and will not be accepted at any other time after March 26. There is a $10 non-refundable fee per student for the class, due at registration, and attendance requirements must be met for the student to be certified. Although the course is designed primarily for young people, there is no maximum age and youth should be 12 years old within six months of course completion to receive the full benefits of the class. Under state law, youth must be 12 years old to legally hunt and use firearms with a parent or guardian.
Wisconsin law now specifies that all people born on or after Jan. 1, 1973, must successfully complete a recognized hunter education class to obtain a hunting license.
A firearm, preferably a .22 cal. rimfire rifle in good working condition, is required for all students for all classes after registration. No ammunition is allowed.
Classes will cover safe gun handling, firearm safety at home and in the field, care of firearms, archery safety and the legal and ethical responsibilities of hunters.
For more information, contact Jane George, (715) 386-8159, or Peter Dold, (715) 386-6522, after 5:30 p.m.