Weather Forecast


Benefit art auction and gala for The Phipps is Thursday evening

The event is Thursday, Aug. 16, 7 p.m., $35 in advance, $45 at the door.

A Seriously Fun Art Auction Exhibition, featuring original work by over 70 regional artists will be on view through Aug. 16 in Gallery One at The Phipps Center for the Arts. This is an opportunity to acquire original works of art by some of the area's most talented artists. Silent bidding begins at the opening of the exhibition and continues until the close of the gala on Thursday, Aug. 16. The gala is a ticketed event at $35 per person in advance and $45 at the door. All proceeds support programming at The Phipps.

The gala will feature sweet and savory hors d'oeuvres provided by local businesses, including Barker's Grill/San Pedro's Café, Knoke's, The Nova, Shanghai Bistro, and Urban Olive & Vine. The Nova will also be serving wine, music will be performed by Café Mélange, and security will be provided by the Midwest Center for Movement. Back by popular demand, the well-known auctioneer Jack Hines will conduct the gala's live auction.

The participating artists are Julie Abnet, William Ammerman, Maggie Anderson, Rachael Anderson, Laura Andrews, Marion Angelica, Sarah Balk McGrill, Lynne Baur, Melissa Belanger, Barbara Riegel Bend, Sylvia Benson, Ingrid Bjerstedt Rogers, Josh Blanc, Marge Bohlander, Eoin Breadon, Wanda Brown, CathyJean Clark, Wynn Davis, David N. DeMattia, Julie Dierhauer, Karla Faith, Chris Faust, Kathy Fleming, Cynthia Fleury, Kirk Freeman, Sally Friedlander, Stephen J. Gates, Ben Gavin, Megan O. Gaworecki, Phyllis Goldin, Deanna Grigus, Jamie Heiden, Steven Johnson, Susan Kattas, Chelsea Kelly, Eileen Kenney, Anne Kerfoot, Jason Kittel, Patty Kuebker Johnson, Judy Larson, Joe Limpert, Mary Lundeberg, Marta Matray, Layl McDill, Tom McGregor, Marlene Meyer, George G.I. Moore, Peter M. Morales, Jim Mulfinger, Helena Myers, Rachael Newman, Phyllis O'Connor, Karen Peltier, Teri Power, Nolan Prohaska, Patrick Kemal Pryor, Paula J. Putirskis, Howard Quednau, Jodi Reeb-Myers, Jeanette Richards, Jude Ryan Reiling, Carissa Samaniego, Pat Schmidt, Eldora Schober Larson, Anders Shafer, Lana Sjoberg, Clayton Snow, Sarah Stone, David Strom, Brita Swanson, Dawn Tracy, Timothy Trost, Linda Webster and Nanci Yermakoff.

To purchase a ticket to the Seriously Fun Gala, call The Phipps at 715.386.2305 or go to

Galleries hours are Monday through Saturday from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Sunday noon to 4:30 p.m., as well as one hour before and through intermission of all performances in The Phipps theaters.

For further information, contact Anastasia Shartin, visual arts director, at (715) 386-2305, ext. 103.