Weather Forecast


Eight Badgers named to U.S. national women's hockey team

Two Wisconsin women's hockey players and six former Badgers have been named to the U.S. national team.

Forwards Meghan Dughan and Hilary Knight will red-shirt their next seasons with the Badgers to be with Team USA.

The ex-Badgers named to the squad were Erika Lawler, Angie Keseley, Kerry Weiland, Jinelle Zaugg-Siergiej, goal-tender Jessie Vetter, and former Olympian Molly Engstrom.

They were among 23 players named by U.S. and Badgers' coach Mark Johnson, after last week's Women's National Festival held near the Twin Cities.

Keseley is one of just two players on the squad who have never been on a national team before. The group will take part in a 10-city tour that starts Sept. 25, in advance of next year's Olympics in Vancouver.

The U.S. team will play the Badgers in Madison on Jan. 5.