Weather Forecast


Feingold votes against Geithner

U.S. Sen. Russ Feingold, D-Wis., was one of just three U.S. Senate Democrats who voted against the confirmation of Treasury Secretary Timothy Geithner.

The head of the New York Federal Reserve bank was confirmed 60-34 Monday, despite personal tax problems which came to light after President Obama nominated him.

Supporters said Geithner corrected his tax errors, and paid all of his penalties.

Democrats U.S. Sen. Tom Harkin, D-Iowa, and Sen. Robert Byrd, D-W.Va., joined Feingold in rejecting Geithner's confirmation.

The new Cabinet member was sworn into office after the vote.