Weather Forecast


Four Wisconsin schools slotted for NCAA softball tourney

Four Wisconsin schools earned bids this morning to play in the NCAA Division 3 softball tournament.

The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire will host one of eight regionals and all of them are double-elimination events.

The Blugolds, who won the WIAC tournament, got the No. 6 seed. UW-Eau Claire will play CCIW champion Augustana of Illinois, the No. 3 seed, on Thursday.

The winner will face either No. 7 St. Norbert or No. 2 Illinois Wesleyan.

UW Oshkosh has the top-seed and a first-round bye and will play either Coe College or Chicago late Thursday afternoon.

Meanwhile, UW Stevens Point will play at a regional in Decorah Iowa.

The Pointers were given the fifth-seed and will play No. 4 Wartburg Thursday morning. The winner will play top-seeded St. Thomas of Minnesota later that day.

The total field is 59 teams. All eight regional winners will advance to the finals May 17-21 in Akron Ohio.