Weather Forecast


City has repeat of the mayoral contest

City of Hudson voters will have the same choice for mayor as the last time they went to the polls to fill the office.

Incumbent John D. "Jack" Breault is seeking his seventh two-year term as mayor, while James E. Mayer is challenging him for the position.

In the April 2004 election, city residents returned Breault to office with 1,124 votes to Mayer's 757.

The city's growth was a major issue of that race, with Breault touting what he said had been responsible development and Mayer claiming it was out of control.

There also will be a race for District 4 alderperson. Current Alderman Roger Riedel has announced that we won't seek re-election for the seat. Lee Wyland, 719 Fifth St., and Jill Luepke, 723 Laurel Ave., have filed nomination papers to have their names placed on the April 4 ballot as candidates for the position.

Neither Wyland nor Luepke has previously held city office. Wyland is a founder of the Hudson Vintage Neighborhood Alliance.

District 2 Alderman Dennis O'Connell, 1352 Carriage Drive, and District 3 Alderman Paul Radermacher, 216 Grandview Drive, will be unopposed on the April 4 ballot. Both incumbents returned nomination papers before the Jan. 3 filing deadline. No one else in the two districts filed as candidates.

O'Connell has served on the council since October 2002, when he was appointed to replace Joan Christenson who resigned because her residence wasn't in the 2nd District.

Radermacher won his first term on the council in the April 2004 election, defeating John Wohlers in a write-in campaign. Incumbent Ron Troyer had announced that he wouldn't serve another term because of health problems even though his name was on the ballot.

Randy Hanson can be reached at

Randy Hanson

Randy Hanson has reported for the Star-Observer since 1997. He came to Hudson after 11 years with the Inter-County Leader at Frederic, and eight years of teaching social studies. He’s a graduate of UW-Eau Claire.

(715) 426-1066