Weather Forecast


Lori Bernard elected City Council president

Re-elected Alderpersons Randy Morrissette II, Scot O'Malley and Alan Burchill, from left, recite the oath of office for City Clerk Nancy Korson. Photo by Randy Hanson

Lori Bernard was elected president of the Hudson City Council at its annual organizational meeting Tuesday, April 21.

Bernard, who is beginning her second year representing District 3, will replace Randy Morrissette II, president for the past year.

Morrissette and Alderperson Lee Wyland were nominated to be president for the coming year (Wyland by Scot O'Malley and Morrissette by Pam Brokaw), but neither nomination received a seconding vote.

Alderperson Alan Burchill nominated Bernard, and her nomination was seconded by O'Malley.

With only one candidate put forward, Mayor Dean Knudson called for a voice vote on approving Bernard as president. No one voted against her.

Bernard, a former St. Croix County Republican Party leader, was elected to the council in April 2008. She defeated David Selissen in a contest to fill the council seat vacated by Paul Radermacher. (Selissen was later appointed to the Plan Commission.)

Now a homemaker, Bernard has a Ph.D. in organic chemistry and has worked as a senior research chemist for 3M Co., a Pillsbury manager and a part-time instructor at UW-River Falls.

She and her husband, Peter, reside on Laurel Avenue. They have a son, Michael, who is in the fifth grade.

The council president's job is to preside over City Council meetings when the mayor is absent.

Chapter 23-6 of the Municipal Code also says that the council president "shall have the powers and duties of the mayor" during "the absence or inability of the mayor." The code doesn't define absence or inability.

The council also re-elected Burchill as its representative on the Plan Commission for another year. He was the only alderperson nominated for the position and was elected on a unanimous voice vote.

Committee chairs

Mayor Knudson returned all council members to the standing committees they served on during the past year, but he designated new chairpersons for the Public Safety and Public Works committees.

Bernard will replace Wyland as head of the Public Safety Committee. Morrissette is the other member of the committee.

The mayor named Burchill chair of the Public Works Committee, replacing O'Malley. Brokaw is the third member of the committee.

The Municipal Code designates the mayor as chair of the Finance Committee. Serving with Knudson on the committee are Bernard, Burchill and Wyland.

The membership of the City Council is the same as it was for 2008. The three alderpersons whose terms expired in April - Burchill, Morrissette and O'Malley - were re-elected.

All were unopposed on the ballot, but O'Malley in District 5 faced a late write-in challenge from former Alderperson Paul Radermacher. The voters returned O'Malley to the seat he has held since December 2000 by a 104-to-33 margin.

Radermacher represented District 3 from 2004 to 2008. He currently serves on the city's Park Board.

Other committees

Knudson also made changes in the council appointments to the Park Board and four multi-jurisdictional boards.

He named Morrissette to replace Wyland as the council's representative on the Park Board.

Bernard is the new representative on the St. Croix Emergency Medical Services Commission, replacing Morrissette.

Burchill will serve on the Hudson Area Joint Library Board, taking over for O'Malley, who is the council's new representative on the Hudson/North Hudson Community Access Board. Brokaw served on the cable TV board during the past year.

Wyland is the new council representative on the Joint Fire Board, replacing Bernard.

The council representatives are voting members of each of the above boards.

The City Council has non-voting liaisons on the Hudson Board of Education, Hudson Tourism Bureau and Hudson Public Utility Commission.

Knudson returned Brokaw as liaison to the school board. He appointed Morrissette liaison to the Tourism Bureau, replacing Burchill, and named Wyland liaison to the Public Utility Commission, replacing Morrissette.

Citizens reappointed

The mayor reappointed the following Hudson citizens to boards:

  • Judy Kelly, three-year term on the Hudson/North Hudson Community Access Board;
  • Karen Neset and Mary Senkus, three-year terms on the Board of Zoning Appeals;
  • Randy Lau and Ron Weiler, three-year terms on the Park Board;
  • David Selissen, three-year term on the Plan Commission;
  • Dale Willi, five-year term on the Police and Fire Commission; and
  • Peter Post, one-year term on the Joint Fire Board.

    The City Council confirmed the mayor's citizen appointees.

  • Randy Hanson

    Randy Hanson has reported for the Star-Observer since 1997. He came to Hudson after 11 years with the Inter-County Leader at Frederic, and eight years of teaching social studies. He’s a graduate of UW-Eau Claire.

    (715) 426-1066