Weather Forecast


Democrats challenge local assemblymen

All the Republican incumbents in area Wisconsin Assembly districts will face Democratic challengers this fall, but there will be no local Assembly primaries in August.

The filing deadline for the state and federal offices up open for election in November was Friday, June 1.

This is the Assembly lineup for Nov. 6:

District 28: Incumbent Erik Severson, R-Star Prairie, is challenged by Democrat Adam T. Bever, Balsam Lake.

District 29: Incumbent John Murtha, R-Baldwin, is challenged by Democrat Jim Swanson, Menomonie.

District 30: Incumbent Dean Knudson, R-Hudson, is challenged by Democrat Diane Odeen, River Falls.

District 93: Incumbent Warren Petryk, R-Eleva, is challenged by Democrat Jeff Smith, Eau Claire.

District 91: The only candidate is Democrat Dana Wachs, Eau Claire. Following redist/ricting incumbent Chris Danou, D-Trempealeau, no longer lives in the district. He is now the only candidate to file in District 92.

State Senate

Just the even-numbered state Senate seats are up for election this year. In District 10, incumbent Sheila Harsdorf, R-River Falls, is challenged by Democrat Dan Olson, Clayton.


On the congressional side, Third District incumbent Ron Kind, D-La Crosse, is being challenged by Republican Ray Boland, Sparta. Seventh District incumbent Sean Duffy, R-Weston, is challenged by Democrat Pat Kreitlow, Chippewa Falls.

With only two candidates in each district, there will be no primary in either.

U.S. Senate

Statewide, though, things are different.

With four Republicans seeking the seat being vacated by long-time Senator Herb Kohl, that party will have a primary in August.

The Republican candidates who filed enough nominating signatures to get on the ballot are Assembly Speaker Jeff Fitzgerald, Horicon; Eric Hovde, Madison, CEO of Hovde Capital Advisors LLC; Mark Neumann, Nashotah, who represented Wisconsin's First District in Congress from 1995 to 1999 and ran for governor in 2010; and former governor Tommy G. Thompson, Madison.

There will be no primary for the Democratic candidate for U.S. Senate. Although four others formally declared their intent to seek the office, Tammy Baldwin, who currently represents Wisconsin's Second District in Congress, is the only Democrat to file nominating signatures to get her name on the ballot.

Libertarian Party member Joseph Kexel, Kenosha, will also be on the ballot. Several independents or third- party candidates declared their candidacies but did not turn in nominating signatures.

Judy Wiff

Judy Wiff has been regional editor for RiverTown’s Wisconsin newspapers since 1996. She holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism and sociology from UW-River Falls. She has worked as a reporter for several weekly newspapers in Wisconsin.