Weather Forecast


Distracted-driving law expands for teens

Wisconsin teenagers talking on their cell phones while driving could be fined starting next month.

The state law prohibiting inattentive driving expands November 1 to include drivers holding probationary licenses or instructional permits.

Texting while driving is illegal in Wisconsin for all drivers. A driver could be fined $20 to $40 dollars for a first offense and $50 to $100 dollars for any subsequent offenses within a year of the first one. A report from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration showed 11% of all drivers under the age of 20 involved in fatal crash were distracted at the time.