Weather Forecast


Six in line to replace Harsdorf

Six candidates have filed paperwork to run in a special election to fill the state Senate seat vacated by newly appointed Agriculture Secretary Sheila Harsdorf.

Voters will choose replacements Jan. 16 for the Senate District 10 seat, which has state Reps. Adam Jarchow, of Balsam Lake, and Shannon Zimmerman, of River Falls, vying to be the Republican candidate. That will be decided in a Dec. 19 primary.

Somerset resident Patty Schachtner has filed to run as a Democrat. Also seeking to run as a Democrat is River Falls resident Reuben Herfindahl, along with Glenwood City resident John Calabrese.

Wilson resident Brian Corriea has filed to run as a Libertarian in the race.

Hammond resident Ken Rimer also circulated papers to run as a Republican in the race, but did not collect enough signatures for his name to be placed on the ballot.

The Senate District 10 candidates represent half of the candidates seeking bids in special legislative elections that will also replace Assembly Democrat Cory Mason — the new mayor of Racine — and Assembly Republican Bob Gannon of West Bend who died in October. Republican Ken There's also a GOP primary for Gannon's seat with four Republicans filing including Spencer Zimmerman — who ran as a third party candidate for Paul Ryan's House seat a year ago — and two Democrats filed to replace Mason.

Mike Longaecker

Mike Longaecker is the regional public safety reporter for RiverTown Multimedia. His coverage area spans St. Croix and Pierce counties. Longaecker served from 2011-2015 as editor of the Woodbury Bulletin. A University of Wisconsin-River Falls graduate, Longaecker previously reported for the Red Wing Republican Eagle and for the Forum Communications Minnesota Capitol Bureau. You can follow him on Twitter at @Longaecker

(715) 426-1072