Weather Forecast


Lame duck board session wades through legislation

Supervisor Lindy Luckey received special recognition at the Tuesday morning county board meeting. She is retiring from her seat on the panel after 26 years of service. Administrator Pat Thompson, left, presented her with a certificate of appreciation. Photo by Jon Echternacht

A lame duck session of the St. Croix County Board Tuesday morning was not without extended discussion on several items while eight supervisors were acknowledged for their service upon leaving county government.

Lindy Luckey was recognized by board chair Daryl Standafer and administrator Patrick Thompson for 26 years of service. Others who received certificates of recognition and finished service at the end of the current term included vice-chair Ester Wentz, Lorin Sather, Richard Marzolf, Steve Hermsen, Robert Shearer, Karen Meyer and Roger Rebholz.

A different board will be in place at the next regular meeting April 17 following the recent redistricting and April elections.

The bulk of the discussion took place on considering a resolution to amend the rules and bylaws of the county board. Luckey led the charges meticulously picking through pages of the bylaws and offering changes.

Various supervisors added changes and a resolution finally passed on a 17-0 vote. The measure faced six different amendment proposals and four of them passed.

A landmark incident happened during the discussion and was duly noted. Supervisor Hermsen and vice-chair Wentz, serving in their last session, agreed on an item for what is believed to be the first time in recorded history.

The much beleaguered resolution creating Chapter 21 updating and consolidating a number of previous ordinances and establishing a county municipal solid waste and recycling ordinance in Chapter 21 weathered little discussion and passed on a 12-5 margin.

Ryan Sicard, Fred Horne, William Peavey, Meyer and Sather voted no.

The final draft was the product of four years of work, a public hearing, numerous public information meetings and the consolidated efforts of Ellen Denzer and Jennifer Havens in the planning and zoning department.

County Board Notes:

  • The next regular county board meeting is set for April 17.
  • The board approved appointments to non-county board local emergency planning committee including Ruth Talford, Eric Nikola, Bob Olson of the Red Cross, and Duana Bremer of the Salvation Army.
  • Approved resolution to apply for a lake management planning grant by a 17-0 margin; supervisor Brian Hurtgen was absent and District 8 is vacant.
  • Adopted a foundation for a strategic plan. The final plan is expected to be presented to the board in by fall.
  • Administrator Pat Thompson said open positions in the county are expected to be filled and brought to the board for approval in the May-June time frame.

  • Advertisement