Weather Forecast


Kurt TeWinkel resigns from Hudson City Council

Mayor Alan Burchill announced at Monday night’s meeting of the Hudson City Council that Kurt TeWinkel has resigned from his position as alderperson for District 4.

TeWinkel didn’t attend the meeting.

Council members received a copy of his letter of resignation dated Sept. 25, in which he said he was stepping down immediately.

“It’s unfortunate that I need to submit this letter of resignation, but for reasons related to personal matters, I’m left with no option,” TeWinkel wrote.

He thanked the council, Mayor Burchill, city staff members and the citizens of Hudson for what he said had been a great experience.

City Administrator Devin Willi said following the meeting that TeWinkel didn’t offer a further explanation for his resignation, and that he didn’t ask for one.

Council members didn’t comment on TeWinkel’s reasons either.

A call to TeWinkel’s home wasn’t returned before this report was filed.

TeWinkel joined the council in April 2012 after defeating former alderperson Dennis O’Connell in the spring election of that year.

It was the first city election after the boundaries for Hudson’s aldermanic districts were redrawn following the 2010 census.

The district stretches from Vine Street on the north to the Bieneman Farm subdivision on the south. It lies between Grandview Drive and Carmichael Road north of I-94, and takes in Ward Avenue.

After some debate, the City Council voted 4-1 to seek applicants to serve out the remainder of what would have been TeWinkel’s term. It expires next April.

District 3 Alderperson Lori Bernard cast the dissenting vote. She said the spring election is close enough that the council should let the voters of the district pick their next alderperson.

Others said they felt the district should have a representative for the next five months.

Council President Rich Vanselow said the situation was similar to when he was selected by the council to serve District 6 after then-alderperson Burchill was chosen for mayor. Burchill moved up to replace former mayor Dean Knudson after Knudson was elected to the state Assembly.

Vanselow said he had already filed papers to run for the District 6 seat in the spring election when he was appointed to the council.

District 5 Alderperson John Hoggatt that the other candidate for the District 4 seat in the 2012 election, O’Connell, could be asked to serve out the term. TeWinkel had 246 votes in that election to O’Connell’s 187.

Burchill said the City Council’s two options were to appoint someone to replace TeWinkel or allow the seat to remain vacant until the spring election.

Willi said public notices of council vacancy would posted and published at the first opportunity.

He speculated that the council would have candidates to consider, and could make its appointment, at its first meeting in November.

Randy Hanson

Randy Hanson has reported for the Star-Observer since 1997. He came to Hudson after 11 years with the Inter-County Leader at Frederic, and eight years of teaching social studies. He’s a graduate of UW-Eau Claire.

(715) 426-1066