Sections

Weather Forecast

Close

Spring sports in full swing

The Hudson girls' soccer team didn't let a few lingering patches of snow on the Raider Stadium turf get in the way of the last day of tryouts Friday, March 23. The team is scheduled to open the season at home on Tuesday, April 3, at 6 p.m. against New Richmond. Bob Burrows / RiverTown Multimedia

Mother Nature's been a little fickle so far this spring, but that hasn't stopped Hudson High School student-athletes from preparing for their respective upcoming seasons.

The Raider boys tennis and boys golf teams held their first practices Monday, March 26, the last of Hudson's spring teams to begin workouts. Weather permitting, most teams will begin competition next week.

The Raider track and field teams already have a pair of indoor meets under their belts after competing at the prestigious All-American Invitational Saturday, March 24 and the Big Rivers Conference Indoor Relays Tuesday, March 27. They will run at the Minnesota State University-Mankato Varsity Showcase Saturday, March 31, and the UW-Stout Elite Indoor Meet Friday, April 6, before opening the outdoor season by hosting the Hudson True Team Invitational Friday, April 13, beginning at 4 p.m.

The Raider softball team is scheduled to start its season with three straight home games at Grandview Park beginning with the opener Thursday, March 29, at 4:30 p.m. against New Richmond. They'll host Ellsworth Thursday, April 5 and Baldwin-Woodville Tuesday, April 10 before opening Big Rivers Conference play with a doubleheader at Eau Claire North Thursday, April 12.

Thanks to the new turf field at the high school's Raider Stadium, the girls soccer team has been able to practice outside since Friday, March 23, and will kick off its season with a home match against New Richmond Tuesday, April 3, at 6 p.m., while the Raider baseball team will open its season on the road against Centennial, Minn. Friday, April 6, in Circle Pines. They'll visit Mahtomedi Saturday, April 7, before opening BRC play at River Falls Tuesday, April 10.

The boys tennis team will see its first action of the season Saturday, April 7, at the Hastings Invitational while the boys' golf team will host the 20-team Raider Invitational Monday, April 9, at Troy Burne.

Bob Burrows

Bob Burrows has been sports editor at the River Falls Journal since 1996 and at the Hudson Star-Observer since 2009. Prior to joining the Journal, Burrows served as sports editor with Ledger Publications in Balsam Lake, Wis. A native of Bayonne, N.J. and a U.S. Navy veteran, Burrows attended Marquette University before completing his studies at UW-River Falls in 1992.

(651) 301-7868
Advertisement
randomness