Weather Forecast


Berkhof WIAC Coach of the Year

Jeff Berkhof

UW-River Falls men's basketball players Shane Manor and Jake Voeltz have been named to the 2011 All-WIAC First Team and Jontae Koonkaew received Honorable Mention while head coach Jeff Berkhof has been named the league's Coach of the Year.

The Falcons are preparing to make their first-ever appearance in the NCAA Division III National Tournament in a first round game Friday at 5:30 p.m. against Illinois Wesleyan. The game will be played at the University of St. Thomas in St. Paul.

Berkhof was named the league's Coach of the Year after taking the Falcons from a last place finish in the WIAC standings in 2010 to a second place finish in 2011.

UWRF finished the regular season with a record of 19-6 this year and fashioned a school record 15 game winning streak. Berkhof then led the Falcons to the WIAC playoff championship game--the first time a Falcon team has ever reached the title game.

He has a 59-69 career record at UWRF and is in his fifth season as head coach.

Manor, a junior guard from Altoona, was the Falcons' leading scorer this season with an average of 15.3 points per game while Voeltz, a senior forward from River Falls, averaged 15.1 points and led the Falcons in rebounds with an average of 7.4. In the team's last regular season finale at Platteville he went over the 1,000-point career mark.

Koonkaew, a senior guard from Apple Valley, Minn., earned honorable mention to the 2007 and 2010 All-WIAC teams. He averaged 10.5 points this season and led the Falcons in both assists (65) and steals (37).

In addition to the All-WIAC selections, senior guard Danny Johnson of Stillwater, Minn., was named to the league's All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of individuals that displayed exemplary sportsmanship throughout the season. It includes one member from each school.