Weather Forecast


Honors pile up for Raider football

Hudson seniors Bryan Caffin (74) and Alex Burgess (95) lead a slew of post-season honors for Raider football players by being named to the 2012 Wisconsin Football Coaches Association All-State First Team. Teammates Jared Johnson and Dan Kelly received honorable mention. Burgess was also named the Big Rivers Conference Defensive Player of the Year, one of 18 Raiders named to All-BRC teams.1 / 3
Raider quarterback Mike Hommes, pictured running for a big gain in Hudson's playoff game against Appleton North, has been named the 2012 Big Rivers Conference Offensive Player of the Year.2 / 3
Hudson head coach Adam Kowles was named the 2012 big Rivers Conference Coach of the Year after guiding the Raiders to the BRC championship with a perfect 8-0 record.3 / 3

Now that the most successful season in the history of the Hudson High School football team is in the books, the individual honors have started piling in.

Eighteen Raiders received post-season honors, highlighted by seniors Bryan Caffin and Alex Burgess being named to the Wisconsin Football Coaches Association First Team. Senior Dan Kelly and junior Jared Johnson received honorable mention to the All-State Team. All four players, along with senior linebacker Ethan Stanchik, offensive lineman Vince Lindstrom, and fullback Dan Loughney were also named to the WFCA All-Region Team.

The Raiders won the triple crown of All-Big Rivers Conference awards, with Burgess named the BRC's Defensive Player of the Year, senior quarterback Mike Hommes earning the Offensive Player of the Year, and head coach Adam Kowles voted the Coach of the Year. Kowles was also named the WFCA District VII Coach of the Year.

The Raiders won the BRC title with a perfect record of 8-0 and finished the season with a mark of 11-1 overall, reaching the WIAA state semifinals for the first time in school history.

Hudson had ten players named to the All-BRC First Team. Caffin and Lindstrom both earned spots on the first team offensive line and Hommes was the first team quarterback while Loughney earned first team running back honors.

The All-BRC First team defense included Jonson at defensive end, Burgess at defensive tackle, Stanchik at linebacker and Kelly and Miles Lewis as defensive backs. Senior Sam Somerville was named the All-BRC First team kicker.

Second team All-BRC honors went to offensive lineman Alex Hayes, running back Joe Kelly and linebacker Jake Shaw.

Linebackers Stuart Burns and Matt Iverson, defensive back Josh Evenson, offensive lineman Matt Wang and running back Blake Amborn earned All-BRC honorable mention.

In all, four Raider linemen, three running backs and a quarterback were named to All-BRC teams on offense while four linebackers, three defensive backs and two linemen earned all-conference on defense.

Bob Burrows
Bob Burrows has been sports editor at the River Falls Journal since 1996 and at the Hudson Star-Observer since 2009. Prior to joining the Journal, Burrows served as sports editor with Ledger Publications in Balsam Lake, Wis. A native of Bayonne, N.J. and a U.S. Navy veteran, Burrows attended Marquette University before completing his studies at UW-River Falls in 1992.
(715) 426-1047