Weather Forecast


Wrestlers honored at banquet

The 2009 Hudson Raider wrestling season came to a close with the annual awards banquet at the Valley House last week.

With a large crowd on hand, the wrestling coaches spoke to honor the seniors who are graduating and also to present several awards to the team and individuals who excelled this year. 

"I really like the end-of-the-year banquet," head coach Chris Hansen said. "It gives me an opportunity to tell these kids some things that I don't have time to tell them during the season. The kids accomplished a lot this season and we rarely take time during the season to congratulate them. The banquet gives us coaches a chance to do that."

The top honor of the night went to the team's MVP - senior Cole Tobin. This was Tobin's second MVP award; he also won it last season. 

A remarkable 12 wrestlers earned All-Big Rivers Conference honors, including six on the first team. They included freshman Tanner Owens, sophomore Nick Larson, juniors Phil Bates and Kyle Crain, and seniors Tobin and Tyler Boumeester.

Freshman Kolya Hawksford and juniors Jordan Baumgartner and Art Vinzant were named to the second team while sophomores Gordon Johnson and Ryan Smith and senior Alex Rogers received honorable mention.

Five wrestlers -- Tobin, Boumeester, Crain, Larson and Owens - received plaques for qualifying for the WIAA state tournament.

The Most Improved Wrestler Award (last season to this season) went to Baumgartner while the Most Improved Wrestler (beginning of the season to the end of the season) went to Larson.

The Most Dedicated Wrestler Award went to Tobin. 

The Junior Varsity MVP went to Zach Stilwell, and the Coaches Award went to Rogers.

The team won the Big Rivers Conference championship for the fourth straight season and finished the year ranked No. 5 in the state.