Weather Forecast


Six Raiders made All-Big Rivers soccer team

Hudson senior Ben Klundt was named to the All-Big Rivers first team.1 / 2
Raider senior Adam Meade was named to the All-Big Rivers first team.2 / 2

Six Hudson players have been named to 2013 All-Big Rivers Conference teams by the conference coaches for their play this season, including two who earned spots on the All-BRC First Team.

Raider seniors Ben Klundt and Adam Meade were each named to the first team and seniors Jack Schulte and Caleb Ondrusik landed on the second team while senior Mitch Karras and sophomore Dan Klundt received honorable mention.

Conference champion Eau Claire Memorial had the most players selected with seven, including Player of the Year Peter Rentzepis, while Hudson followed with six.

Co-captain Ben Klundt was the runner-up to Rentzepis in the Player of the Year balloting after leading the Raiders in scoring this season with 15 goals and 14 assists from his midfielder position. Meade was named to the first team for his standout defensive play on the Raider back line in addition to scoring two goals and earning one assist.

Schulte was one of the Raiders most versatile players this season, moving between midfielder and forward, and finished with four goals and four assists while Ondrusik was the Raiders’ second leading scorer with 14 goals and 10 assists from his forward position.

Co-captain and forward Karras scored 15 goals and had four assists this year while sophomore defensive midfielder Dan Klundt contributed two goals and five assists.

The Raiders finished third in the BRC this season with a conference record of 7-4-1 and overall mark of 10-8-2.

Bob Burrows
Bob Burrows has been sports editor at the River Falls Journal since 1996 and at the Hudson Star-Observer since 2009. Prior to joining the Journal, Burrows served as sports editor with Ledger Publications in Balsam Lake, Wis. A native of Bayonne, N.J. and a U.S. Navy veteran, Burrows attended Marquette University before completing his studies at UW-River Falls in 1992.
(715) 426-1047