Weather Forecast


Raiders land a dozen football players on All-Big Rivers teams

Hudson senior defensive back Jared Johnson, pictured sacking Green Bay Preble quarterback Will Daniels in the Raiders’ 38-22 Level 2 playoff victory over the Hornets, has been named the 2013 Big Rivers Conference Defensive Player of the Year by the conference coaches. Johnson is one of 12 Raiders named to All-Big Rivers Conference teams for third play this season. (Hudson Star-Observer photos by Bob Burrow)((1 / 3
Hudson senior wide receiver Jake Giordana was named to the All-Big Rivers Conference First Team after leading the conference with 44 catches for 1,123 yards and 15 touchdowns this season. (Hudson Star-Observer photo by Bob Burrows) 2 / 3
Senior offensive lineman Matt Wang earned a spot on the All-Big Rivers Conference First Team after helping the Raiders average over 340 total yards per game this season. (Hudson Star-Observer photo by Bob Burrows) 3 / 3

After working together to bring Hudson its second straight Big Rivers Conference championship, 12 individuals on the Raider football team have been singled out by conference coaches for selection to either the first or second All-BRC teams.

Six Raiders earned spots on the All-BRC First Team, led by Defensive Player of the Year Jared Johnson, while six more were named to the second team. Raider head coach Adam Kowles was also named the BRC Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

The 2013 Raiders matched the 2012 team for the most wins in school history, finishing with a record of 11-2, including its second BRC title and second appearance in the WIAA State semifinals.

Johnson was joined by senior linebacker Ross Wusterbarth and senior defensive back Miles Lewis on the first team defense while senior offensive lineman Matt Wang and senior wide receiver Jake Giordana earned spots on the first team offense and senior Hunter Frey was named the first team special teams player.

Earning spots on the All-BRC Second Team were quarterback Landry Otten, wide receiver Alex Herink, offensive linemen Mathias Tobin and Jon Wilgren, defensive lineman Eliot Motu and linebacker Zach Kraft. Wilgren is the only junior selected while the rest of the Raiders are seniors.

Johnson, a 6-3, 235-pound defensive end, led the Raiders in total tackles this season with 51, tackles for loss with six and sacks with five. Wusterbarth was second on the team with 45 tackles while Lewis had 42 tackles and led the entire BRC in interceptions with six.

Giordana was the top receiver in the conference with 44 receptions for 1,123 yards and 15 touchdowns while averaging over 23 yards per catch.

Otten was second in the league in passing yards with 1,726 while completing 78-of-144 passes with 19 touchdowns and eight interceptions while Herink caught 24 passes for 511 yards and five touchdowns.

In addition to Kowles being named Coach of the Year, and Johnson Defensive Player of the Year, Superior quarterback Nick Mehlum was named the BRC’s Offensive Player of the Year.

Bob Burrows
Bob Burrows has been sports editor at the River Falls Journal since 1996 and at the Hudson Star-Observer since 2009. Prior to joining the Journal, Burrows served as sports editor with Ledger Publications in Balsam Lake, Wis. A native of Bayonne, N.J. and a U.S. Navy veteran, Burrows attended Marquette University before completing his studies at UW-River Falls in 1992.
(715) 426-1047