Weather Forecast


Kaylyn Jenkins named to All-Big Rivers first team

Hudson sophomore Kaylyn Jenkins is one of two Raiders named to 2013-14 All-Big Rivers Conference Girls Basketball team by the conference coaches last week. Jenkins earned a spot on the five-player All-BRC First Team while freshman Lexi Jonas earned honorable mention. (Hudson Star-Observer photo by Bob Burrows)

After going 2-4 during the first half of the Big Rivers Conference schedule, the Raider girls basketball team went 4-2 the second time around to finish in the middle of the pack in the final conference standings.

Now, two players who were keys to Hudson’s second-half resurgence have been recognized by the conference coaches by earning spots on 2013-14 All-BRC teams.

Sophomore Kaylyn Jenkins was named to the five-player All-BRC First Team while freshman Lexi Jonas received Honorable Mention.

“Coaches are always looking for consistency in these postseason awards and the success of our team in the second half of conference play, when we pushed Eau Claire Memorial and Chippewa Falls, the top two teams to the brink, allowed Kaylyn and Lexi to be recognized by the other BRC coaches for their play,” Raider coach Joe Behnke said. “These awards are more team-oriented than you know, and without team success first these individuals recognition wouldn't be possible.”

Jenkins, a 6-foot post player, is the first Raider to earn All-BRC First Team honors since Jessica Vadnais in 2003-04. She led the Raiders with 12.8 points, seven rebounds and one block per game in conference play while shooting 48 percent from the field.

Jonas, a 5-7 guard, averaged 9.4 points, 1.7 rebounds and 1.8 assists per game while shooting 35.5 percent from the field, including 28.1 percent from three-point range.

Jenkins is joined on the first team by BRC Player of the Year Kayla Hanley of conference champion Chippewa Falls, Brenna Roshell of Chippewa Falls, Lauren Novak of Eau Claire Memorial and Karly Murphy of River Falls.

The All-BRC Second Team consists of Allie Biermeyer and Anna Graaskamp of Eau Claire Memorial, Briquelle Neyens of Eau Claire North, Hannah Jensen of Menomonie and Rachel Goettl of Rice Lake.

In addition to Jonas, other players receiving honorable mention include Tyana Loiselle and Courtney Passint of Chippewa Falls, Alaina Quaranta of Eau Claire North, Ella Ellenson of Rice Lake and Breanna Weiss of River Falls.

Bob Burrows
Bob Burrows has been sports editor at the River Falls Journal since 1996 and at the Hudson Star-Observer since 2009. Prior to joining the Journal, Burrows served as sports editor with Ledger Publications in Balsam Lake, Wis. A native of Bayonne, N.J. and a U.S. Navy veteran, Burrows attended Marquette University before completing his studies at UW-River Falls in 1992.
(715) 426-1047