Weather Forecast


Who's running for local office in April?

As the filing deadline passed last week, contests developed for 14 of the 19 districts for St. Croix County Board, as well as Hudson mayor, the District 3 seat on the Hudson Common Council, and three open seats on the North Hudson Village Board.

Spring elections will be held April 3, with primary elections (if necessary) preceding on Feb. 20. The following seats and issues will go before voters in April (* denotes incumbent):

St. Croix County

Circuit Court judge Scott Needham* is running unopposed.

Filings were pouring in as the deadline approached last week, and in the end races developed for 14 seats on the 19-member St. Croix County Board.

Five incumbents are running unopposed

District 1: Ed Schachtner, Ryan Sicard*, who did not complete filing, but received a 72-hour extension. (includes Wards 1 and 2 of town of Somerset and Wards 1-4 of village of Somerset.)

District 2: Scott J. Nordstrand will run unopposed after being excluded as a candidate for appointment this fall when St. Croix County supervisors appointed Chris Matter to fill the seat vacated by Supervisor Agnes Ring in November.

Ring stepped down from the position in September after announcing her new position with Family Resource Center of St. Croix Valley, which she said could cause potential conflicts of interest.

The district includes Wards 1-3 of town of St. Joseph and Wards 3-6 of town of Somerset.

District 3: Incumbent Christopher Babbitt* is challenged by Lynda Miller in the district that includes Wards 3-7 of town of Hudson and Wards 4-6 of town of St. Joseph.

District 4: Tom Coulter*, Howard Novotny will face off for the seat that includes Ward 1 of town of Hudson and Wards 1-6 of village of North Hudson.

District 5: Roy Sjoberg*, Carla Stream (Wards 1, 6, 9 and 10 of city of Hudson)

District 6: Timothy Hall will challenge incumbent Bob Long*, who was elected in 2016 to his first term. The district includes Ward 2 of town of Hudson and Wards 5, 8, 11 and 12 of city of Hudson.

District 7: Incumbent Tammy Moothedan* is challenged by Rory O'Sullivan, who ran for St. Croix County District Attorney in 2016. Moothedan was appointed Aug. 1 to finish the 2016-2018 term after the April resignation of Laurie Bergren. The district encompasses Wards 2, 3, 4 and 7 of city of Hudson.

District 8: Incumbent Scott J. Nelson* is challenged by Dan Fosterling. The district is Wards 8-14 of town of Hudson.

District 9: Jill Ann Berke* faces opposition from Robert Fiedler, in the district that covers Wards 1-6 in the town of Troy.

District 10: Incumbent Dave Ostness is challenged by Jacqueline Niccum in the district that includes Wards 1-4 city of River Falls, Wards 2 and 3 town of Kinnickinnic and Ward 7 town of Troy.

District 11: Incumbent Roger Larson* will square off against Gary R. Hanson for the seat that represents Ward 1 village of Star Prairie, Ward 1 town of Stanton and Wards 1-5 town of Star Prairie.

District 12: Daniel Hansen* will be challenged by Mike Montello. This district includes Ward 6 town of Star Prairie and Wards 1-3 and 7-9 city of New Richmond.

District 13: Newly appointed supervisor (Aug. 1, 2017) Scottie Ard*will run against Ryan Sherley, whom she defeated with a 12-5 St. Croix County Board vote. The district is Wards 4-6 and 10-12 of the city of New Richmond.

District 14: Andy Brinkman* will run unopposed. This district covers Ward 1 of town of Erin Prairie, Wards 1-5 of town of Richmond and Ward 1 of town of Warren

District 15: John Kraft will challenge David Peterson* (Wards 1 of towns of Kinnickinnic, Pleasant Valley and Rush River; Wards 2 and 3 of town of Warren and Wards 1-4 of village of Roberts).

District 16: Paulette Anderson* will run unopposed. She represents Ward 1 of town of Baldwin, Wards 1-3 of town of Hammond and Wards 1-4 of village of Hammond.

District 17: Judy Achterhof* will also run unchallenged. She represents Wards 1 of towns of Cylon, Emerald, Forest and Glenwood and village of Deer Park and Wards 1 and 2 of city of Glenwood City.

District 18: Shaela Leibfried* faces no opposition for her seat representing Ward 2 of town of Baldwin and Wards 1-6 of village of Baldwin.

District 19: William Peavey* will face William Ruesch for the seat representing Ward 1 of towns of Cady and Springfield and village of Wilson; Ward 3 of village of Spring Valley and Wards 1 and 2 of town of Eau Galle and village of Woodville.

Hudson Common Council

Rich O'Connor* will face council member John Hogatt for the mayor position.

In District 2, Bill Alms* will run unopposed.

In District 3, Tom McCormick* filed non-candidacy papers. Candidates will include Paul Deziel and Paul Malecha

Jim Webber* will face challenger Paul Berning in District 4.

Hudson School Board

Robert Baumann, Rob Brown*, and Sue Kattas* will be on the ballot for three open seats, while Sandy Gehrke* is not running for re-election.

North Hudson Village Board

Tim Zais*, Bryan Pike*, Joshua L. Bennis, Philip Matz and Robert Cizek are running for three open trustee seats. Ted Head* will not run for re-election.

Town boards

Hudson Town Board: Incumbents Don Jordan* and Dave Ostby* are the only ones on the ballot for two seats.

St. Joseph Town Board: Two seats, currently held by Steve Bohl and Laurie DeRosier. Caucus is Jan. 11.

Troy Town Board: Lowell Enerson and Cliff Jennings are running for two open supervisor seats. Ray Knapp* and Jason Kjos* filed non-candidacy papers.