Weather Forecast


Who will be on the April 2019 ballot?

The deadline has passed and the names are in for those who chose to run for village boards, school boards and city councils across the state on the April 2, 2019 ballot.

Interested candidates had until 5 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 2 to submit papers or declare non-candidacies. However, some townships have yet to hold their caucuses where candidates will be nominated for open positions on town boards. Those include the towns of Hudson and St. Joseph, which will be held Jan. 8 and Jan. 10, respectively.

Information obtained for formalizing the municipal and school candidacies to appear on the ballot shows only one race: For town of Troy Supervisor I. In the other municipalities, incumbents are largely running unopposed.

The names of candidates appearing on ballots this spring (as of Jan. 8, 2019) are:

(* denotes incumbent):

CITY OF HUDSON (two-year terms)

Alderperson District 1 Randy Morrissette II*

Alderperson District 5 Sarah Atkins-Hoggatt*

Alderperson District 6 Joyce Hall*

TOWN OF HUDSON (caucus is Jan. 8, two-year terms)

Supervisor Tim Foster

Supervisor Kernon Bast

HUDSON SCHOOL DISTRICT (two seats, three-year terms)

Bruce Hanson*

Jamie Johnson*

VILLAGE OF NORTH HUDSON (two-year terms)

Village president Stan Wekkin* and challenger Howard Novotny

Trustees (three seats open, two-year terms):

Cathy Leaf*

Kirk Nelson*

Lori Head, who will run for the seat currently occupied by Trustee Marc Zappa, who chose not to seek re-election.

TOWN OF ST. JOSEPH: (caucus will be held Jan. 10, two-year terms)

Town Board Chair Theresa Johnson

Supervisor 2 Michael Long

Supervisor 4: Position vacant, expected to be filled December 2018

TOWN OF TROY (two-year terms)

Town Board Chair Dan Pearson*

Supervisor I Suzanne Van Mele* and challenger Jason Kjos

Supervisor 3 Jan Cuccia*

St. Croix County

Circuit Court Judge Branch 2, Edward Vlack* is running unopposed for another six-year term.


The term of Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice Shirley Abrahamson will expire on July 31, 2019. Abrahamson announced that she would not be seeking re-election in May 2018.

Two candidates are running to fill the seat: Appeals Judge Brian Hagedorn and Appeals Chief Judge Lisa Neubauer.

Hagedorn, who announced his candidacy in August, is the former chief legal counsel to former Gov. Scott Walker.

Neubauer announced her candidacy in July. She serves on the District 2 Court of Appeals with Hagedorn.

Court of Appeals Judge District 3 Lisa K. Stark* will run unopposed for another six-year term.

Sarah Nigbor

Sarah J. Nigbor serves as a regional editor for RiverTown Multimedia, a position she began in April 2017. She joined RiverTown Multimedia in October 2013 as a news reporter for the New Richmond News, before being appointed editor of the Pierce County Herald in February 2015. She graduated from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Spanish and French in 2001. She completed a minor in journalism in 2004. 

(651) 301-7881