Weather Forecast


Gymnasts honored for sportsmanship

The Hudson Raider gymnastics team was awarded the WIAA Team Sportsmanship Award for gymnastics for the 2018 winter state tournament season. Pictured at the state tournament in Wisconsin Rapids March 2 are, in front from left, Taylor Owens, Amber Robey and Katie Auge. In back, Caroline Erickson, Emma Newman, Emma O'Neill, Paige Hillman and Maia Malchow. Photo courtesy of Katie Beaupre

The Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA), in cooperation with Rural Mutual Insurance, has chosen the Hudson Raiders as the recipient of the Team Sportsmanship Award for the 2018 WIAA State Gymnastics Tournament.

Other winners of the prestigious sportsmanship recognition for the winter state tournaments are Valders in boys basketball, Marshall in girls basketball, D.C. Everest Co-op in girls hockey, and Ellsworth in team wrestling.

Hudson receives the Sportsmanship Award in gymnastics for the first time and for the third time overall. The Raiders also earned the honor in girls soccer back in 1996 and then again in boys soccer in 1998. They placed seventh in the Division 1 team competition at the State Gymnastics Championships, March 2, in Wisconsin Rapids.

Raider head coach Katie Beaupre said the award was a natural outgrowth of the personalities of the girls on the team.

"We had such a nice group of girls on the team this year," she said. "The freshman and the upperclassman really got along well. They are very supportive of each other and other teams. They love to go to meets and cheer for girls on other teams. Gymnastics is a unique sport in that way of everyone supporting each other and wanting to see each other be successful. We had a lot of fun at the state competition and it was fun to see great gymnastics from across the state."

The schools and communities receiving honorable mention included Antigo, Ashland, Dodgeville/Mineral Point, Hartford Union, Mount Horeb, Nicolet, River Falls and the West Salem Co-op.

The WIAA/Rural Mutual Insurance sportsmanship award is presented to one school and community in each of the state team tournaments. The award winners are determined by the conduct and sportsmanship displayed by athletes, coaches, cheer and support groups, mascots, bands and spectators. Additional consideration is given for the effort of school administrators and chaperones to ensure support for their teams are positive and that the highest ideals of sportsmanship are upheld. Award winners receive a plaque and banner in recognition of the honor, and schools receiving honorable mention are acknowledged with a certificate of recognition.

The selection process includes contributions and evaluations from contest officials, tournament management, police and security personnel, crowd control and ushers, WIAA staff members, area hotels and restaurants.

Bob Burrows

Bob Burrows has been sports editor at the River Falls Journal since 1996 and at the Hudson Star-Observer since 2009. Prior to joining the Journal, Burrows served as sports editor with Ledger Publications in Balsam Lake, Wis. A native of Bayonne, N.J. and a U.S. Navy veteran, Burrows attended Marquette University before completing his studies at UW-River Falls in 1992.

(651) 301-7868